About Me

My photo
Scotland, United Kingdom
Hi! My name is Kendall, I'm 22, a university student and I'm from Scotland. I'm a Reader, Reviewer, Blogger and occasional YouTuber. Yep, that about sums it up :)

Sunday, 7 September 2014

Review: Letting Go [Surrender 01] by Maya Banks!

 
Publication date: 10th April 2014
Paperback edition: 384 pages
Source: Kindle
Rating: 3.5/4 stars
Synopsis: For fans of E. L. James, Sylvia Day and J. Kenner. Are you ready to surrender to the powerful sensuality and erotic romance of No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Maya Banks and her sensational new trilogy?

Josslyn found perfection once; she knows she'll never find it again. Now widowed, she seeks the one thing her beloved husband couldn't give her: dominance. But at an exclusive club which indulges the most hedonistic of fantasies, she never imagined she'd find the one man who's long been a source of comfort - her husband's best friend.

Dash has lived in an untenable position for years: in love with his best friend's wife but unwilling to act on that attraction. When he finds her in a club devoted to the darker edges of desire, he thinks she has no idea what she's getting herself into. Until she explains in detail what she wants. What she needs. If she wants dominance, he is the only man who will introduce her to that world. He is the only man who will touch her, cherish her...love her. And the only man she'll ever submit to.

The exciting, steamy and emotional Surrender trilogy continues with Giving In and Taking It All.
 
I had the chance to request a paperback of this book through Bookbridgr, a place where bloggers from the UK and Ireland can request paperbacks and ebooks from publishers, so I requested a paperback and about a week later it showed up on my doorstep! I actually wasn't sure if I would get a paperback, so to say I squealed when I did, would be an understatement lol! I've read a few other books from this author's Colters' Legacy series, so I was really excited to check this book out, even though I knew it would be pretty different to the series I had read! I really enjoyed this book! It was super hot! It takes the plot a little while to get into the hotness side, but when it did, it was so damn hot! I have to say that there wasn't really anything else in the plot apart from the sexy scenes though! I was expecting maybe a bit of suspense or something, but there wasn't really any, which is why I took this book down a star! I had a hard time rating this book overall actually, so had to give it the rating I did! There was a small bit of suspense in the plot near the end, but apart from that it was about the main character learning that it's okay for her to move on and fall in love again! I also read this book in a day and in a few sittings! The characters were great! Joss was the main female character and this book was all about her doing what the title says, and letting go! Joss always had the desire to be in a dominated relationship, but she put her love for her now dead husband in front of her needs! Joss came a long way in this book though and she became more confident as this book progressed with her desires and the kind of relationship she wanted! I just really liked Joss' character! She was easy for me to connect with too! Dash was the main male character and he was freaking hot! I wouldn't say he's the hottest male character I've ever read, but there was something about him that I just loved! He was really attentive, domineering and he always put Joss' needs before his own! He was also such a genuine guy and I liked that he was protective and domineering, but that he wasn't overly protective and domineering! He let Joss sort of do what she wanted, to a certain extent, and he was quite lenient with her! I just loved him! I wasn't sure if this book was going to be written from both Joss and Dash's point of views, but it was! I'm really happy it was because it really showed me how deep the characters feelings for each other were! Joss' feelings developed over the book, but Dash had sort of always had feelings for Joss, so that was interesting! I'll definitely be reading the next book in this trilogy! It probably won't be at the top of my TBR list, but I'll definitely be reading it! I know that it's going to be about two characters who were in this book as secondary characters, which makes me excited to read it! The UK cover for this book is stunning! It's totally different to the US and German covers for it! I completely love it and it suits the book perfectly too! Big thank you to Headline Eternal for sending me a paperback of Letting Go!
 

No comments:

Post a Comment